© Newtownards District No.4
Banner Series - LOL 1908
The focus in our banner series turns now to Mill Street Heroes LOL 1908.
The lodge was originally formed in 1869 in No. 11 District. It has close associations with the Mill Street area of the town, formerly sitting in Matilda Gill's public house in the street.
The lodge banner features an image of William of Orange at the Battle of the Boyne. It is the reverse image on the banner however that is unique within local circles.
Four local images are featured - the Town Hall, Scrabo Tower, the Old Priory and the Old Market Cross - set against the crest of Ards Borough Council. What is interesting about the design is that the four local landmarks are all painted in black and white - an unusual design choice, although one that stands out among the banner’s colourful counterparts.
The lodge also carries a bannerette, unfurled in 2006 in memory of four former members - W/Bro R Marshall, W/Bro T Paden, W/Bro H Magill and W/Bro W McIlroy. All four were former Masters of the Lodge, while W/Bro McIlroy held the post of District Master in recent years.